COFFEE/TEA SHARE OCTOBER 8, 2016

Hi, there come inside out of the cold and grab a site. I will bring your drink and treat to you. We have had a dry week of cool weather. A few day had a lot of wind. But today is supposed to reach the in the high 80’s Fahrenheit. The trees are slowly changing to fall colors, but we haven’t had a killing frost yet. We are at that time of the year when Kato insists on the patio door being open and it either too hot, cold or windy for the door to be open.

img_20161001_0901025_rewind

If we were having coffee/tea, I would let you know about a memory that I have been thinking about all week.As a child growing up in 30-40s, each year the Sears and Penny’s catalogs was a highlight of Β each spring. It meant new clothes and shoes. Then the malls arrived and you could see what you were buying and no worries about returning unwanted merchandise. Now something new is happening. On-line stores are all the norm which are catalogs in a new form and the stores are hurting.

Groceries stores were mostly Mom and Pop located around the area. You had to walk to most of them some would deliver and allow you to charge items and pay monthly. I remembered walking around twenty blocks to Albertson Main and Sixteen for food. My Father had Β radio shop kitty-corner to the Albertsons. Now you can order your groceries on-line and picked them up when you with. Some stories will even deliver them to your residence. We really haven’t changed but are rearranging how we do things.

MEMORIES

πŸ“ƒπŸ“ƒπŸ“ƒπŸŒžπŸŒžπŸŒžπŸ±πŸ±πŸ±πŸ’πŸ’πŸ’πŸ‡πŸ‡πŸ•πŸ•πŸ“πŸŽπŸŽπŸ–πŸ—πŸπŸπŸ§πŸ§πŸΊπŸΊπŸΊπŸΊπŸ©πŸ©πŸ–πŸ¦πŸ–πŸ–πŸ–πŸ¦πŸ¦πŸ‘πŸπŸπŸ‘πŸ‘πŸπŸπŸπŸˆπŸˆπŸˆπŸπŸπŸ“šπŸ“šπŸ“šπŸ“šπŸ“š

BOOKS:

ARC released October 11

A KILLER’S CLOSET by Paula Paul

ABSTRACTS ALIASES by Ritter Ames

Other books being read now and will be review that day.

MUFFING AND MOURNING TEAΒ by Β H. Y. Hanna

MARSH MADNESSΒ by Victoria Abbott

Some books I may read are:

CABIN FURVORΒ by Patricia Fry

FROM NEWSPAPER TO HANDPRINTSΒ by Elaine Orr

πŸ“šπŸ“šπŸ“šπŸ“šπŸ“šπŸˆπŸ―πŸ•πŸπŸ–πŸ©πŸΊπŸ§πŸπŸ’πŸ“πŸŽπŸ˜‰πŸŒžπŸ“šπŸ“šπŸ΅πŸ΅πŸ΅πŸ“šπŸ“šπŸ“šπŸ“šπŸ“šπŸŠπŸ‹πŸ‘πŸ»πŸΉπŸ†πŸ«πŸ“«πŸ“’πŸ“£πŸŽπŸ˜«πŸ’–πŸ’—πŸ’˜πŸ’πŸ’žπŸ“šπŸ“šπŸ“šπŸ“šπŸ“šπŸ¦πŸ¦πŸπŸπŸŠπŸ“š

This part of Part-Time Monster hosted by Diane

https://parttimemonsterblog.com/tag/if-we-were-having-coffee/

http://www.inlinkz.com/new/view.php?id=669210

About bettylouise31

https://idahobluebird50.wordpress.com Member of Netgalley. Senior Citizen and been reading and sharing my thoughts on books most of my life. I read for my pleasure. I have been married for 60 years and we have a Bengal Cat, Kato. Interests include reading, dogs, cats, gardening, knitting, crocheting. I have a strong interest in North American native plants. A word on my reviews. Books review are from my public library, brought, many from Netgalley, a few from Edelweiss, occasionally from an author or from friends. The opinions are my own. I represent no publisher, author or another source​. My reviews can be found on Amazon, Tumblr, Goodreads, Google+. I have no Facebook or Twitter accounts. Thanks for reading my blog.
This entry was posted in Books, Having Coffee. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to COFFEE/TEA SHARE OCTOBER 8, 2016

  1. I loved the JCPenney Christmas Catalog! πŸ™‚ ~Tara

  2. inidna says:

    Great pictures Betty! πŸ™‚

  3. I still frequent the malls for clothes and shoes. Online shopping can be frustrating when the merchandise turn out to be not what you expect, at least not from where I live. Wonderful pictures as usual! Have a great weekend!

    • I prefer to see what I am buying. So often what you think you are buying is not what you want. I can’t remember buying something from a catalog was what I thought it was. I almost never return because of the hassle. Thanks for the compliment.

  4. DailyMusings says:

    love the photos of the elk and that yellow bird! Are they Elks? I do a lot of shopping online and love to have my groceries delivered sometimes- makes it easier when I am working.

    • Thanks for the compliment. The first is a trophy buck. He stay inside the refuge during hunting season. He had a friend who stay with him. The hunters knew the bucks were there. They would circle the refuge hoping to get a shot at them. There is a group of antelope another of deer, but no elk. I do have some of elk. The yellow bird is an American goldfinch. Groceries delivered does save time when working.

  5. Pamela Morse says:

    Great photos as usual, allowing us to visit your part of the world. I remember the catalogs being a big deal, then the Sears and Pennys opening stores in malls in the 50s…that was a big deal too, but my mother still studied the catalogs. I get all kinds of things delivered by Amazon, and have had grocery delivery in the past. It certainly does not resemble the way my grandma procured her goods in rural Arkansas.

  6. Kathleen Howell says:

    Thanks for sharing your memories!! Awesome.. I prefer making in store purchases – waiting for it to arrive is the worst! πŸ™‚

  7. Corina says:

    There is a lot I miss about the “old days.” Not all new things can be considered progress; some of the new things are more like digression than progression. Of course, change is good. At least some of it.

  8. inesephoto says:

    Wonderful photographs!
    Online shopping is both convenient and soulless πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

